Advantage Austria Show navigation
We think you are in the USAGo to this country pageChange country

Political System

Austrian Flag ©


Government, Parliament, Constitution and other information about the political system.   

Austria is a parliamentary republic, founded on democratic principles and the separation of powers. The highest state representative is the Federal President, whose term of office lasts for 6 years. The two parliamentary chambers are the National Council (lower house) and the Federal Council (upper house) and these are the legislative bodies. The Federal Chancellor is the head of the Federal Government.

Constitutional Basis

The Federal Constitution, the State Treaty, the Declaration of Neutrality and the EU Accession Agreement form the constitutional basis of the Republic. Austria has been a member of the European Union since 1st January 1995.

National Council

Six parties are currently represented in the National Council: The two ruling parties are the Austrian Social Democratic Party and the Austrian People's Party. The other parliamentary parties are the Austrian Green Party, the Austrian Freedom Party, NEOS and the Team Stronach. 

Distribution of Mandates

SPÖ (Social Democratic Party of Austria)52 Mandates
ÖVP (Austrian People's Party)51 Mandates
FPÖ (Austrian Freedom Party)38 Mandates
Die Grünen (The Greens)24 Mandates
NEOS9 Mandates
Team Stronach6 Mandates

Austria is currently ruled by a grand coalition of the Social Democrats and the People's Party. In line with the constitution, the next general election is due in 2018.

Federal Provinces

Austria is a federation made up of nine federal provinces. The federal capital city, Vienna, is also one of the nine federal provinces in its own right. Each of the nine provinces is led by a provincial government, headed by a Governor.

Federal ProvinceCapital Cities of the Provinces
Upper AustriaLinz 
Lower AustriaSt. Pölten
Burgenland (in German)Eisenstadt