Here you can see and modify the cookie settings of various tools used on and related subdomains.

Save settings
Advantage Austria Show navigation

Political System

Austrian Flag ©


Government, Parliament, Constitution and other information about the political system.   

Austria is a parliamentary republic, founded on democratic principles and the separation of powers. The highest state representative is the Federal President, whose term of office lasts for 6 years. The two parliamentary chambers are the National Council (lower house) and the Federal Council (upper house) and these are the legislative bodies. The Federal Chancellor is the head of the Federal Government.

Constitutional Basis

The Federal Constitution, the State Treaty, the Declaration of Neutrality and the EU Accession Agreement form the constitutional basis of the Republic. Austria has been a member of the European Union since 1st January 1995.

National Council

Five parties are currently represented in the National Council: The two ruling parties are the Austrian People's Party and the "Die Grünen" (The Greens).  The other parliamentary parties are Austrian Social Democratic Party, the Austrian Freedom Party and NEOS.  

Distribution of Mandates

ÖVP (Austrian People's Party)71 Mandates
SPÖ (Social Democratic Party of Austria)40 Mandates
FPÖ (Austrian Freedom Party)30 Mandates
Die Grünen (The Greens)26 Mandates
NEOS15 Mandates

Austria is currently ruled by a coalition of the People's Party and The Die Grünen (The Greens). In line with the constitution, the next general election is due in 2024.

Federal Provinces

Austria is a federation made up of nine federal provinces. The federal capital city, Vienna, is also one of the nine federal provinces in its own right. Each of the nine provinces is led by a provincial government, headed by a Governor.

Federal ProvinceCapital Cities of the Provinces
 Vienna Vienna
Upper AustriaLinz 
Lower AustriaSt. Pölten
Burgenland (in German)Eisenstadt
Last modified
14. January 2020