Here you can see and modify the cookie settings of various tools used on and related subdomains.

Save settings
Advantage Austria Show navigation

Coronavirus: Situation in the US

March 24, 2020

Entry ban from the EU imposed

Non-U.S. citizens who have been in the Schengen area in the last 14 days prior to departure will be denied entry into the U.S. starting March 14, 2020. This means that tourist or business visas do not permit entry into the U.S. for the time being. 

Update March 24, 2020 - Curfews and other restrictions on public life

The measures imposed in the United States currently differ significantly by state in the scope and severity of the restrictions. No state is currently preventing the population completely from going outside, but the situation is developing very dynamically and more regional representatives are realizing that early, stringent measures could be decisive.

In the following states, there are already restrictions on various types of companies and sometimes "shelter in place" declarations, in which the population is ordered to only perform essential activities outside of their own place of residence: Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Illinois, California, Louisiana , Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas.

The hardest hit states are New York, California, Washington State, where the strictest regulations have already been implemented.

On overview of the the measures in the different US states can be found here

National Emergency March 13, 2020, 3:00 PM ET

President Trump declares National Emergency to get access to 50 Billion US Dollars, which should be used to recognize the virus and the treatment of people affected by it. 

Update March 17, 2020

Starting Thursday, March 19, 2020, there will be no more direct flights between Austria and the USA.

The Austrian ministry of foreign affairs urges Austrian tourists to make use of the currently still existing possibilities of returning to Austria. Currently there are still flights from the US to Europe.  The last direct flight from Chicago to Vienna (Austrian Airlines) will be operated on Wednesday, March 18, 2020. 

Therefore, also consider possibilities to fly via other European cities or Canada. Please contact you travel agency or airline directly where you booked your flight or check out  Hotlines of other Airlines :

Lufthansa: +1 800 645 3880, in Germany +49 69 86 799 799

Austrian Airlines: + 1 800 843 0002, in Austria +43 5 1766 1000

SWISS: +1 877-359-7947, in Switzerland: +41 848 700 700

Entry ban from EU

Non-U.S. citizens who have been in the Schengen area in the last 14 days prior to departure will be denied entry into the U.S. starting March 14, 2020. This means that tourist or business visas are no longer valid and do not permit entry into the U.S. Exceptions are in place for Green Card holders, (in general for) family members of US citizens and other groups mentioned in the proclamation.

The import of goods is not affected by this regulation. This was clarified on March 12, 2020 after contradicting information has circulated.

Countries affected are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary, UK and Ireland.

The presidential decree thus drastically extends the existing entry restrictions that so far affected people who have been in China and Iran in the past 14 days.

General information on the current development of the coronavirus in the USA
As of March 13, 2020

According to experts, the US is at the beginning of the contagion curve. Due to faulty test kits and a delay in setting up decentralized test stations, it has only been possible to carry out tests across the USA for a few days. This is partly due to the exponential increase in cases that tested positive. Because the spread of the coronavirus is not equally distributed across all states in the United States, regional / local governments react with different intensities. The states of Washington State, New York State and California are currently most affected. 

Further information and links

Last modified
March 26, 2020