Applications for Austrian Short Term Visa

Standard Content Module

Kindly find below information needed to apply for a Schengen visa at the Austrian Embassy.


Travelers who intend to visit Austria have to submit their visa applications at the offices of VFS in Lagos or Abuja without booking an appointment.


Concerning the required documents, please study carefully the Visa information in the attachment and the following link https://www.vfsglobal.com/austria/nigeria/


The application form must be printed out, filled out correctly, signed by the applicant and submitted personally with all the other required documents. Please make sure that the information given is true and consistent (dates of flight bookings have to coincide with hotel bookings, etc.) because it will be meticulously screened and counter checked.


Please note that visa processing takes at least three weeks and sometimes longer. It is advisable to start applying early, up to 3 months before your intended travel date.


After a pre-check of the required documents and taking fingerprints (if not already available), VFS forwards applications to the Austrian Embassy in Abuja for further processing. 


Once documents have been submitted, please ensure you check your email (including spam folder) or phone messages for notifications from the Embassy.


Kindly drop your documents at the VFS closest to you.


For Abuja:

Austria Visa Application Center

38 Lobito Crescent,

Wuse II, Abuja

Submission time: 8:00 - 15:00

Passport collection time: 8:30 - 15:00


For Lagos:

Austria Visa Application Center

Plot 110, Admiral Ayinla Way,

Opposite Treasure Garden Estate,

Third Roundabout, Lekki Phase I – Lagos

Submission time :8:00 - 14:00

Passport collection time: 11:00 - 16:00

The following countries are  also covered by the Austrian Embassy in Abuja  

Benin, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Nigeria, São Tomé and Príncipe, Togo.

Schengen visa applicants, living in the following countries covered by the Austrian Embassy in Abuja can also apply for a visa at:

Ghana: Dutch Embassy in Accra

Cameroon: Belgian Embassy in Yaoundé 

Equatorial Guinea: Spanish Embassy in Malabo
São Tomé and Príncipe: Portuguese Embassy in São Tomé

Benin, Central African Republic, Chad, Gabon, Togo: French Embassy in each respective country 

For other countries covered by the Austrian Embassy - Commercial Section, Lagos:

Congo Republic: French Embassy in Brazzaville

Liberia, Sierra Leone: Austrian Embassy in Dakar

Democratic Republic of Congo: Belgian Embassy in Kinshasa

Applications at each one of these Embassies are carried out by the regulation and procedure of the respective Embassy. The Austrian Embassy, Abuja therefore recommends getting in direct contact with these Embassies.

For more helpful information please visit the Austrian Embassy's website

Last update : 10. September 2020